Waterloo Library and Historical Society
The Waterloo Library and Historical Society (WLHS) was founded in April 1875. The Queen Anne Victorian style building opened in December, 1883. The Waterloo Library is one of the oldest libraries in New York State that was constructed specifically as a library and has operated continuously as a library in its original building under its original charter.
Fatzinger Hall is a performace hall located on the second floor of the Waterloo Library. Recently restored, Fatzinger Hall seats 140, and hosts many programs featuring theatre productions, music, readings, and public lectures.
An annex of the Waterloo Library, Terwilliger Hall was opened in 1960. It was named for Waterloo resident Charles P. Terwilliger whose will provided a substantial bequest for the purpose of establishing a museum. A trip through the Terwilliger Hall is a journey through the history and development of Waterloo. Photographs and maps from as early as 1806 depict the lay of the land and give a sense of what life was like in the village at the turn of the century. Visitors will see a replica of a general store, authentic full-sized vehicles, Native American artifacts and a display of Waterloo firsts, including pianos and organs manufactured in Waterloo. Currency, antique guns, medical instruments, dolls and a unique display of early funeral customs are a sampling of other exhibits.
In 2006-2007, the National Memorial Day Museum, just a short walk from the Cayuga/Seneca Canal in Waterloo, NY, underwent a complete make-over of its interpretive exhibits to better tell the story of the history of Memorial Day to a national audience. Waterloo is the only federally recognized birthplace of Memorial Day and we are proud to interpret this somber and reflective holiday for the many visitors who visit the museum and our beautiful Finger Lakes location.